ملاحظات الطبيعة - 1 مارسst، 2018

مرحبا بكم في EMSWCD's ملاحظات الطبيعة سلسلة!

عندما اشترى EMSWCD هذا العقار لمكتبنا ، تتكون الفناء من عشب مليء بالأعشاب مع عدد قليل من الأشجار. احتفظ موظفونا بالأشجار وأزالوا كل الحشائش وبدأوا في تنسيق الحدائق وتركيب المئات من النباتات المحلية. كل عام منذ ذلك الحين واصلنا إضافة النباتات وإجراء التعديلات حسب الحاجة ، ويتحول المشهد الآن بالكامل!

في سلسلة ملاحظات الطبيعة الجديدة الخاصة بنا ، سنشارك اللحظات الصغيرة والملاحظات المثيرة للاهتمام من ممتلكاتنا ، بالإضافة إلى حكايات التاريخ الطبيعي ذات الصلة ، على أساس أسبوعي إلى شهري. من المهم بالنسبة لنا أن نكون حاضرين في المناظر الطبيعية ، لنرى حقًا العالم الذي نتحرك خلاله كل يوم - كل من تغييراته واتساقه. كلما أصبحنا أكثر وعياً بالعالم الطبيعي من حولنا ، وكيف تتفاعل النباتات والحيوانات ، كان بإمكاننا مساعدة الناس بشكل أفضل في العناية بالأرض والمياه.

1 مارسst، 2018

عنب أوريغون طويل القامة (ماهونيا أكويفوليوم) والكشمش الأحمر المزهر (الضلوع الدموي) على وشك الازدهار ، والطائر الطنان المقيم لدينا آنا (كاليبت آنا) كان يؤدي عرض التزاوج على الشجيرات الناشئة اليوم!

عندما تصل أنثى إلى منطقته ، يطير الذكر أكثر من 100 قدم بشكل مستقيم ، ثم يغوص مباشرة لأسفل بسرعة تزيد عن 50 ميلاً في الساعة. في الجزء السفلي ، سوف يسحب فجأة ، ناشرًا ريش ذيله في اللحظة الأخيرة لإنتاج "صرير" متفجر.

هذا الطائر الطنان متوسط ​​الحجم هو واحد من سكان شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ على مدار العام ، وبعض الأفراد الجادون في فصل الشتاء في أقصى الشمال حتى جنوب ألاسكا. خلال فصل الشتاء ، تتغذى الطيور الطنانة على الحشرات الصغيرة والعناكب تلتقط النباتات أو تصطاد في منتصف الرحلة.

إذا نجح عرض التزاوج لدى الذكور ، فستحتاج الأنثى أيضًا إلى إمدادات جيدة من الحشرات هذا الربيع لإطعام أطفالها الذين يكبرون. تعد زراعة النباتات المحلية ، وتقليل أو القضاء على استخدام المواد الكيميائية على المناظر الطبيعية ، وترك غطاء طبيعي مثل أوراق الشجر وأكوام الفرشاة ، كلها طرق رائعة لتوفير موطن لطعام الطيور المكونة من 6 و 8 أرجل! اكتشف أين يمكنك الحصول على نباتات محلية هنا!

ابحث عن مصادر محلية
من النباتات المحلية!

Nature Notes – March 2018

Welcome to EMSWCD’s Nature Notes series!

When EMSWCD purchased this property for our office, the yard consisted of a weed-filled lawn with a few trees. Our staff kept the trees, removed all the grass, and began landscaping and installing hundreds of native plants. Every year since then we’ve continued to add plants and make adjustments as needed, and the landscape is now totally transformed!

In our new Nature Notes series, we’ll share small moments and interesting observations from our property, as well as related natural history tidbits, on a weekly to monthly basis. It’s important to us to be present on the landscape, to really see the world we move through every day—both its changes and its consistency. The more aware we become of the natural world around us, and of how plants and animals interact, the better we can help people care for land and water.

March 1st, 2018

Our tall Oregon grape (Mahonia aquifolium) and red flowering currant (Ribes sanguineum) are about to bloom, and our resident Anna’s hummingbird (Calypte anna) was performing its mating display over the budding shrubs today!

When a female arrives on his territory, a male will fly over 100 feet straight up, then dive straight down at speeds of over 50 miles per hour. At the bottom he’ll pull up suddenly, spreading his tail feathers at the very last second to produce an explosive “squeak.”

This medium-sized hummingbird is one of the Pacific Northwest’s year-round residents, and some hardy individuals winter as far north as southern Alaska. During the winter, hummingbirds feed on small insects and spiders picked off vegetation or caught in mid-flight.

If our male’s mating display is successful, the female will also need a good supply of insects this spring to feed her growing babies. Planting native plants, reducing or eliminating chemical use on the landscape, and leaving natural cover like leaf litter and brush piles are all great ways to provide habitat for 6 and 8 legged bird food! Find out where you can get native plants here!

Find local sources
of native plants!