سورد فيرن

سرخس السيف (Polystichum munitum)
بوليستيشوم مونيتوم

بوليستيشوم مونيتوم (السرخس الغربي) هو نبات سرخس دائم الخضرة يعيش في غرب أمريكا الشمالية ، حيث يُعد أحد أكثر أنواع السرخس وفرة التي تحدث على طول ساحل المحيط الهادئ من جنوب شرق ألاسكا جنوبًا إلى جنوب كاليفورنيا ، وكذلك من الشرق الداخلي إلى جنوب شرق كولومبيا البريطانية وشمال أيداهو والغرب. مونتانا ، مع وجود مجموعات سكانية معزولة في شمال كولومبيا البريطانية الداخلية ، والتلال السوداء في ساوث داكوتا ، وفي جزيرة غوادالوبي قبالة باجا كاليفورنيا.

تنمو السعف الخضراء الداكنة لهذا السرخس إلى 50-180 سم ، في كتلة ضيقة تنتشر شعاعيًا من قاعدة مستديرة. وهي أحادية القرنية ، مع صيوان الأذن بالتناوب على الساق. يبلغ طول كل صيوان 1-15 سم ، مع فص صغير يشير إلى الأعلى في القاعدة ، والحواف مسننة بأطراف خشنة. تعيش السعف الفردية لمدة 1.5-2.5 سنة وتبقى مرتبطة بالجذمور بعد الذبول. يشغل الصوري المستدير صفين على جانبي الطرف الأوسط لكل صيوان ويتم تغطيته بوصلة مركزية تشبه المظلة مع حواف مهدبة. تنتج جراثيم صفراء فاتحة.

الموطن المفضل لهذا السرخس هو الجزء السفلي من الغابات الصنوبرية الرطبة على ارتفاعات منخفضة. ينمو بشكل أفضل في تربة حمضية جيدة التصريف من الدبال الغني والحجارة الصغيرة. سرخس السيف شديدة الصلابة ، ويمكن أن تنجو من فترات الجفاف العرضية بمجرد إنشائها.

في حين أن هذا السرخس هو موضوع بستاني مفضل في غرب أمريكا الشمالية ، فقد وجد أنه من الصعب أو المستحيل أن ينمو بشكل مرض في الجزء الشرقي من القارة.


  • متطلبات الإضاءة: جزء الظل ، الظل الكامل
  • متطلبات المياه: جاف ، رطب
  • سهولة النمو: من السهل أن تنمو
  • معدل النمو: معتدل
  • الهوامش: لا
  • دعم الحياة البرية: الطيور أو الثدييات
  • مقاوم للحرائق: هل
  • صالح للأكل:
  • ناضجة الارتفاع: 2-5ft
  • العرض الناضج:2-4ft

Sword Fern

Sword fern (Polystichum munitum)
Polystichum munitum

Polystichum munitum (Western Sword Fern) is an evergreen fern native to western North America, where it is one of the most abundant ferns occurring along the Pacific coast from southeast Alaska south to southern California, and also inland east to southeastern British Columbia, northern Idaho and western Montana, with isolated populations in interior northern British Columbia, the Black Hills in South Dakota, and on Guadalupe Island off Baja California.

The dark green fronds of this fern grow to 50-180 cm tall, in a tight clump spreading out radially from a round base. They are single-pinnate, with the pinnae alternating on the stalk. Each pinna is 1-15 cm long, with a small upward-pointing lobe at the base, and the edges are serrated with bristly tips. Individual fronds live for 1.5-2.5 years and remain attached to the rhizome after withering. The round sori occupy two rows on either side of the midrib of each pinna and are covered by a centrally-attached, umbrella-like indusium with fringed edges. They produce light yellow spores.

The favored habitat of this fern is the understory of moist coniferous forests at low elevations. It grows best in a well-drained acidic soil of rich humus and small stones. Sword ferns are very tough, and can survive occasional dry periods once established.

While this fern is a favored horticultural subject in western North America, it has been found to be difficult or impossible to grow satisfactorily in the eastern part of the continent.


  • Light Requirements: Part Shade, Full Shade
  • Water Requirements: Dry, Moist
  • Ease of Growing: Easy to grow
  • Growth Rate: Moderate
  • Spreads: No
  • Wildlife Support: Birds or Mammals
  • Edible:
  • Mature Height: 2-5ft
  • Mature Width: 2-4ft