ما هو الشيء العظيم في النباتات المحلية؟

زنبق النمر والقيقب ونباتات محلية أخرى في ساحة ذات مناظر طبيعية

توفر النباتات الأصلية فوائد متعددة للناس والحياة البرية ، بينما تساهم بشكل كبير في تربة ومياه صحية في المناطق الحضرية والريفية. فيما يلي قائمة سريعة بسبعة أشياء جيدة تفعلها أو توفرها النباتات المحلية. لمزيد من المعلومات التفصيلية حول النباتات المحلية وأين يمكنك الحصول عليها ، تأكد من مراجعة موقعنا الموارد النباتية الأصلية قسم!

تساعدك النباتات الأصلية على استخدام كميات أقل من الأسمدة. يتم استخدام كميات كبيرة من الأسمدة في المروج. يتدفق الفوسفور والنيتروجين الزائدين (المكونات الرئيسية للأسمدة) إلى البحيرات والأنهار مما يتسبب في نمو الطحالب الزائد. هذا يستنفد الأكسجين في مياهنا ، ويضر بالحياة المائية ويتداخل مع الاستخدامات الترفيهية.

تساعدك النباتات المحلية على تقليل استخدام المبيدات الحشرية. على الصعيد الوطني ، يتم استخدام أكثر من 70 مليون رطل من المبيدات الحشرية على المروج كل عام. تتدفق المبيدات الحشرية من المروج ويمكن أن تلوث الأنهار والبحيرات. يمكن أن يتعرض الأشخاص والحيوانات الأليفة التي تتلامس مع المروج المعالجة كيميائيًا لمبيدات الآفات.

تساعدك النباتات الأصلية على استخدام كميات أقل من المياه. تتطلب الحديقة الحديثة كميات كبيرة من الماء لتزدهر. في المناطق الحضرية ، يستخدم الري بالأعشاب ما يصل إلى 30٪ من استهلاك المياه على الساحل الشرقي وما يصل إلى 60٪ على الساحل الغربي. تزيد أنظمة الجذور العميقة للعديد من نباتات الغرب الأوسط الأصلية من قدرة التربة على تخزين المياه. يمكن للنباتات المحلية أن تقلل بشكل كبير من جريان المياه وبالتالي الفيضانات.

تساعدك النباتات الأصلية في الحفاظ على نظافة الهواء من حولك. المناظر الطبيعية لا تتطلب جز أو صيانة كثيرة. ومع ذلك ، يجب قص المروج بانتظام. يستهلك حوالي أربعين مليون آلة جز العشب 200 مليون جالون من البنزين سنويًا ، بينما تنبعث أدوات الحدائق التي تعمل بالغاز بشكل عام 5 ٪ من تلوث الهواء في البلاد. تنبعث جزازة العشب التي تعمل بالغاز 11 مرة تلوث الهواء من سيارة جديدة. يساهم الكربون المفرط الناتج عن احتراق الوقود الأحفوري في ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري ، بينما تقوم النباتات المحلية باحتجاز (إزالة) الكربون من الهواء.

توفر النباتات الأصلية المأوى والغذاء للحياة البرية وتدعم الملقحات. تجذب النباتات المحلية مجموعة متنوعة من الطيور والفراشات والحياة البرية الأخرى من خلال توفير موائل متنوعة ومصادر غذائية. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن المروج التي يتم قصها عن كثب ليست ذات فائدة تذكر لمعظم الحيوانات البرية!

تعزز النباتات الأصلية التنوع البيولوجي والإشراف على تراثنا الطبيعي. في الولايات المتحدة ، يُزرع ما يقرب من 20 مليون فدان من الحشائش ، وتغطي مساحة أكبر من أي محصول واحد. لسوء الحظ ، هناك فوائد قليلة جدًا للحياة البرية المحلية من العشب المشذب. وبالمثل ، فإن الحدائق التي تتميز في الغالب بأنواع نباتات غير أصلية غالبًا ما تكون ذات فائدة قليلة للحياة البرية. المناظر الطبيعية هي فرصة لإعادة إنشاء نباتات محلية متنوعة ، وبالتالي دعوة الطيور والفراشات للعودة إلى الوطن.

لقد ثبت أن النباتات الأصلية توفر المال بعدة طرق مختلفة. تقدر إحدى الدراسات التي أجرتها شركة أبلايد إيكولوجي سيرفيسز (برودهيد ، ويسكونسن) خصائص أكبر أنه على مدى فترة 20 عامًا ، تبلغ التكلفة التراكمية للحفاظ على مرج أو أرض رطبة 3,000 دولار لكل فدان مقابل 20,000 دولار لكل فدان لأعشاب العشب غير الأصلية. يمكن أيضًا قياس الفوائد الاقتصادية للنباتات المحلية مقابل الضرر الذي تحدثه بعض النباتات غير الأصلية. وفقًا لدراسة أخرى ، فإن وجود الأنواع الغازية (بما في ذلك الحيوانات) يكلف ولاية أوريغون ما يقدر بـ 125 مليون دولار سنويًا1!

استكشف أكثر من 50 مصنعًا في قاعدة بيانات النباتات الأصلية!

 

1كوزاك ، هارت ، تشان ، "اقتصاديات الأنواع الغازية." مُعد لمجلس الأنواع الغازية في ولاية أوريغون. جامعة ولاية أوريغون 2009.

What’s so great about native plants?

a Tiger lily, vine maple and other native plants in a naturescaped yard

Native plants provide multiple benefits to people and wildlife, while contributing greatly to healthy soil and water in urban and rural areas. Below is a quick list of seven good things native plants do or provide. For much more detailed information on native plants and where you can obtain them, be sure to check out our Native Plant Resources section!

Native plants help you use less fertilizers. Vast amounts of fertilizers are applied to lawns. Excess phosphorus and nitrogen (the main components of fertilizers) run off into lakes and rivers causing excess algae growth. This depletes oxygen in our waters, harms aquatic life and interferes with recreational uses.

Native plants help you use less pesticides. Nationally, over 70 million pounds of pesticides are applied to lawns each year. Pesticides run off lawns and can contaminate rivers and lakes. People and pets in contact with chemically treated lawns can be exposed to pesticides.

Native plants help you use less water. The modern lawn requires significant amounts of water to thrive. In urban areas, lawn irrigation uses as much as 30% of the water consumption on the East Coast and up to 60% on the West Coast. The deep root systems of many native Midwestern plants increase the soil’s capacity to store water. Native plants can significantly reduce water runoff and, consequently, flooding.

Native plants help you keep the air around you cleaner. Natural landscapes do not require mowing or very much maintenance. Lawns, however, must be mowed regularly. About forty million lawnmowers consume 200 million gallons of gasoline per year, while overall, gas-powered garden tools emit 5% of the nation’s air pollution. One gas-powered lawnmower emits 11 times the air pollution of a new car. Excessive carbon from the burning of fossil fuels contributes to global warming, while native plants sequester (remove) carbon from the air.

Native plants provide shelter and food for wildlife and support pollinators. Native plants attract a variety of birds, butterflies, and other wildlife by providing diverse habitats and food sources. Closely mowed lawns, on the other hand, are of little use to most wildlife!

Native plants promote biodiversity and stewardship of our natural heritage. In the U.S., approximately 20 million acres of lawn are cultivated, covering more land than any single crop. Unfortunately, there are very few benefits to native wildlife from a manicured lawn. Likewise, gardens that mostly feature non-native species of plants are often of little benefit to wildlife. Natural landscaping is an opportunity to reestablish diverse native plants, thereby inviting the birds and butterflies back home.

Native plants have been shown to save money in many different ways. One study by Applied Ecological Services (Brodhead, WI) of larger properties estimates that over a 20 year period, the cumulative cost of maintaining a prairie or a wetland totals $3,000 per acre versus $20,000 per acre for non-native turf grasses. The economic benefits of native plants can also be measured against the damage that certain non-native plants do. According to another study, the presence of invasive species (including animals), costs Oregon an estimated $125 million a year1!

Explore over 50 plants in our Native Plant Database!

 

1Cusack, Harte, Chan, “The Economics of Invasive Species.” Prepared for the Oregon Invasive Species Council. Oregon State University 2009.