إدارة حشائش الراغورت الغازية

حشيشة الدود (Senecio jacobaea) تتفتح مع اليرقات العثة الزنجفر تتغذى عليها

يبدو أن حشيشة الدود منتشرة في كل مكان هذا العام ، لكن الحيوانات المفترسة لها ليست بعيدة ...

حشيشة الدود حشيش عشبي خطير لأنه سام للماشية ، يسبب تلف الكبد عند تناوله.

ماذا تفعل إذا كان لديك حشيشة الدود على الممتلكات الخاصة بك

لا نوصي بالجز ، حيث يمكن أن يطيل عمر النبات إلى ما بعد العامين العاديين ويزيد من فرصة تحوله إلى التبن. بدأت بعض النباتات في البذر الآن ، لذا من المرجح أن يؤدي القص الآن إلى انتشار العدوى بشكل أكبر.

أفضل رهان للإزالة هو السحب أو الحفر. لسوء الحظ ، كان الوقت المثالي لسحب النباتات بين مايو ويونيو ، بعد أن انسحبوا ولكن قبل أن يزهروا. في هذه المرحلة ، قد يكون من الأفضل الانتظار حتى العام المقبل لإزالتها. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى سحبها هذا العام ، فستحتاج إلى وضعها في كيس والتخلص منها في سلة المهملات حتى لا تنتشر البذور. عندما تُترك البذور بمفردها ، فإنها تتشتت بفعل الرياح ، لكنها تقطع مسافة 10 أقدام فقط في المتوسط ​​من النبات ، لذا فإن تركها للبذور في مكانها لن يسبب انتشارًا سريعًا.

عودة الحيوانات المفترسة حشيشة الدود
حشيشة الدود لها نوعان رئيسيان الضوابط البيولوجية (تعني "الضوابط البيولوجية" في هذا السياق الحيوانات المفترسة الطبيعية التي تساعد في السيطرة على النباتات الغازية أو غيرها من مجموعات الآفات) التي تتغذى عليها عندما تبدأ بالانتشار: عثة الزنجفر وخنفساء البراغيث. تم رصد يرقات عثة سينابار حول المنطقة (انظر الصور) هذا الصيف. على الرغم من أنه أقل وضوحًا ، إلا أن خنافس البراغيث هي التي تقوم بمعظم العمل ، حيث تهاجم تاج الجذر والأوراق وسيقان الأوراق خلال موسم الأمطار. سنبحث عن خنافس البراغيث الذهبية الصغيرة في شهر أكتوبر.


تدور النباتات وضوابطها البيولوجية صعودًا وهبوطًا. هذا هو عام صعودي للنباتات ، والذي يجب أن يتبعه عام صعودي ليرقة عثة الزنجفر وخنفساء البراغيث. من المتوقع أن يعودوا أقوى العام المقبل لإحداث بعض الأضرار التي تشتد الحاجة إليها لحشيشة الدود. أبق عينيك مفتوحة!

 

لمزيد من المعلومات ، تحقق من مواقع الويب التالية:

Managing invasive tansy ragwort weeds

Tansy weed (Senecio jacobaea) in bloom with cinnabar moth caterpillars feeding on it

It seems like tansy is everywhere this year, but its predators are not far behind…

Tansy is a dangerous pasture weed because it is poisonous to livestock, causing liver damage when ingested.

What to do if you have tansy on your property

We don’t recommend mowing, which can extend the life of the plant beyond its normal two years and increase the chance that it could get into hay. Some plants are beginning to seed now, so mowing now is more likely to spread infestations further.

Your best bet for removal is pulling or digging. Unfortunately, the ideal time to pull the plants was between May and June, after they bolted but before they flowered. At this point, it may be better to wait until next year to remove them. If you need to pull it this year, you’ll want to bag it and dispose of it in the trash so the seeds don’t spread. When left alone, the seeds disperse by wind, but they only travel an average of 10 feet from the plant, so letting it go to seed in place will not cause rapid spread.

Tansy predators making a comeback
Tansy has two main biological controls (“biological controls” in this context means natural predators that help control invasive plant or other pest populations) that feed on it when it starts to spread: the cinnabar moth and the flea beetle. Cinnabar moth caterpillars have been spotted around the district (see photos) this summer. Although less visible, it’s really the flea beetles that do most of the work, attacking the root crown, leaves, and leaf stalks during the rainy season. We will be looking for the small, golden flea beetles come October.


Plants and their biological controls cycle up and down. This is an up year for the plants, which should be followed by an up year for the cinnabar moth caterpillar and flea beetle. They are expected to return stronger next year to do some much needed damage to the tansy. Keep your eyes peeled!

 

For more information, check out the following websites: